New Music Alert: Icarus The Owl Releases ‘Failed Transmissions’, ‘Dream Shade’, Announce Sophomore Album

While they news broke a month ago, we’re still not over this new track from rockers Icarus The Owl. The track, which first appeared on Alternative Press’s website, is entitled “Failed Transmissions“, and it’s everything I love about melodic hardcore. Immediately while listening to the track, I called back to the sound of bands like I Am Ghost, and how such fast hitting and stimulating sounds really aren’t seen that much these days. Luckily for me, however, Singer Joey Rubenstein shares in my affinity for that style of punk, going on to state “I grew up listening to fast and melodic punk music. Late 90’s Fat wreck and Epitaph bands were my lifeblood. We wanted to capture the essence and energy of a genre I hold so dear, but insert our style into it.” You definitely hear that passion for the genre in this single, while the track itself still holds onto Icarus The Owl‘s identity and integrity. The sound doesn’t feel forced, nor does it sound like the band is in any way trying to imitate other genres; it’s an authentic effort that has certainly paid off.

Failed Transmissions” is just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to news about Icarus The Owl— the track was accompanied by the announcement that their much anticipated new album, Rearm Circuits, would be out December 1st after a trying 2 years for the band. From being in Paris during the devastating terror attacks, to an unforeseen 7 month hiatus, the band was truly tested in the time it took them to make this album; Rubenstein goes on to say “So much has happened to us in the last two years. I am ecstatic that we made it out the other side with what I feel is easily our best record.”  We’re truly excited to see what these Portland rockers have in store for us after a hectic two years.

More recently, the band released the second track off of Rearm Circuits, entitled “Dream Shade“. Rubenstein’s vocals sore on this track– keeping the beautiful melodies and heavy guitars, the track works wonderfully after “Failed Transmissions” and shows just how far the band has come. For me, the track calls to Glassjaw in all the best ways, and the video is as emotional as it is haunting. If these two tracks are any indication, Rubenstein might have sold himself short; this album might not only be their best so far, but one of the best this year.

In the meantime, if you’re in California you can catch Icarus The Owl at a few dates around the time of the release, and for those of you not in California– never worry! We’ve got you covered with all things Icarus The Owl leading up to the release of Rearm Circuits on 12/1. You can check out the tracklist and Cali dates below, and preorders for the album are available on the band’s site.

Upcoming Dates:

12/2 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
12/3 – Sacramento, CA @ Holy Diver

Rearm Circuits Tracklist
1. Failed Transmissions
2. Dream Shade
3. Ghosts of Former Lives
4. The Vanishing Point
5. Coma Dreams
6. DoubleSleep
7. Do Not Resuscitate
8. The Renaissance Of Killing Art
9. Hidalgo’s Secret Hideout
10. Burial Vows
11. Dimensions
12. Shadowboxing

Last modified: November 30, 2017